Though the state of California has a reputation for being open to a wide variety of lifestyles, it is quite harsh when it comes to levying jurisprudence on things like driving while intoxicated. The incredibly large and diverse population in the state demands that intoxication infractions be weighed on a set scale. This creates a no-tolerance atmosphere that all drivers should be aware of.
The penalties for a DUI in California are heavily measured by the damages caused by intoxicated driving. This means that lighter penalties are given if a driver causes no harm to others. Penalties for intoxication, however, can be quite severe if intoxication causes an accident where property damage or physical harm to another party occurs.
The penalty for a first-time DUI conviction in California includes financial costs and jail time. Minimum financial payment can total around $2,000 for fines and judicial assessments. Along with these fines, 2-day jail sentences are required. After the jail sentence is served, DUI recipients will need to enroll in an alcohol treatment program, while dealing with a 90-day restriction on their driver’s license privileges.
People who incur a second DUI in California are responsible for several thousands of dollars in penalties, along with a required three-year enrollment in an alcohol treatment program. The penalties also include a two-year restriction on driving privileges, vehicle impounding, and up0 to a one-year jail sentence. The state will also require driver locks on all owned vehicles.
A third DUI in California will elicit penalties for a DUI that virtually eliminate the possibility of being able to drive in the state without assistance. These penalties include maximum financial assessments of more than $18,000, 4 months in jail, 30-month offender education programs, and the court option of forfeiture of owned vehicles.
All of these penalties for a DUI in the state of California are standard in instances where no other parties are involved. If DUIs are given in accident cases, the penalties can be much harsher and include lengthier jail sentences and fines. The California legal system is absolutely intolerant when it comes to driving under the influence of alcohol and controlled substances.
If you are charged with a DUI in California, it is critical that you seek the assistance of an experienced Solano County DUI defense attorney right away. The particular facts and circumstances of your case may warrant the reduction of penalties or a case dismissal. At The Choyce Law Firm, we stand beside you and fight to keep you free and on the road. Contact The Choyce Law Firm for a free consultation now. We will answer all of your questions and tell you what defenses you may have!